Skip to main content

Dr. Maureen Joel Lagos

Associate Professor

Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Nanomaterials, EELS spectroscopy (phonons and plasmons), in-situ HRTEM, Nanomechanics
Areas of Specialization:
Research Clusters:


 Currently Accepting Graduate Students

  Research Areas Include:  

  • Electron Microscopy of novel nanomaterials
  • Electron energy-loss spectroscopy (Plasmons and Phonons)
  • Low-Loss terahertz nanophotonics
  • Nanoscale heat transfer
  • Correlation between structure-properties of nanomaterials


  • Ph.D. The State University of Campinas
  • Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Antwerp.
  • Research Associate, RUTGERS, The State University of New Jersey.

Did you know…

Dr. Lagos is one of six McMaster researchers getting the Discovery Accelerator Supplement, an additional $120,000 over three years awarded to Discovery Grant recipients who have a well-established research program and who show strong potential to become international leaders in their respective areas of research. Full article from the Daily News can be found here



Representative Publications: 

  • Nanoscale Temperature Measurements using Phonon Spectroscopy, NanoLetters 18, 4556, (2018).
  • Mapping Surface and Bulk Phonon Modes in a Single Nanocube, Nature 543, 529 (2017).
  • Vibrational Spectroscopy in the Electron Microscope, Nature 514, 209 (2014).
  • Attosecond and Femtosecond Forces exerted on Nanoparticles induced by Swift Electrons, Physical Review B 93, 205440 (2016).
  • The Role of Electronic Coupling between Substrate and 2D MoS2 Nanosheets in Electrocatalytic Production of Hydrogen, Nature Materials 15, 1003 (2016).
  • Mechanical Deformation of Atom-sized Metal Rods: When Size and Shape Matter, Physical Review Letters 106, 55501 (2011).
  • The Smallest Metal Nanotube with a Square Cross-section, Nature Nanotechnology 4, 149 (2009)


  • NSERC Early Career Research award (2019)
  • Microscopy & Microanalysis Postdoctoral Scholar Award (2018)
  • Invited speaker presentation Award – EDGE meeting (2017)
  • Capes Best Thesis Prize, Category: Physics (2012)
  • 3rd Paulo Gontijo Best Thesis Prize, Category: Physics (2011)
  • Marechal do Ar Casimiro Montenegro Filho Prize, Category: Nanoscience (2010)