Skip to main content



Dr. Ray LaPierre

Department Chair

solar cells (photovoltaics), photodetectors, quantum information processing (quantum computers)


Dr. Jonathan Bradley

Assistant Professor and Barber-Gennum Chair in IT

silicon photonics, integrated optics, lasers, photonic materials, optical communications, sensors, microphotonic systems


Dr. Adriaan Buijs


reactor core physics, reactor modelling, reactor design, Monte Carlo methods, data analysis


Prof. Qiyin Fang

Professor and Canada Research Chair in Biophotonics

biophotonics, microscopy, fluorescence spectroscopy & imaging, intelligent sensing for point-of-care, aging-in-place, & environmental monitoring


Dr. Harold Haugen


Femtosecond Laser Ablation and Micromachining, Electron Microscopic Studies of Ytterbium-Doped Optical Fibres, Applications of THz Radiation


Dr. Adrian Kitai


fundamental luminescent materials, new luminescent devices, new avalanche injection devices, optical fibre liquid crystal display technology


Prof. Rafael Kleiman

Department Chair

solar energy: photovoltaics and solar thermal, concentrator photovoltaics, solar testing and instrumentation, solar materials; silicon, III-V, hyperspectral imaging, device modelling, advanced light trapping, device fabrication


Dr. Andy Knights

Director, CEDT

silicon optical circuits; silicon integrated optics


Dr. John Luxat

Professor and NSERC Industrial Research Chair

Nuclear Safety Analysis Methodology, Experimental Studies in Nuclear Safety Thermalhydraulics, Theoretical Modelling Studies in Nuclear Safety Thermalhydraulics


Dr. Peter Mascher


Positron Annihilation Spectroscopy; Point Defects in Materials; Thin Film Technology; Silicon Nanostructures; Silicon Photonics; Luminescence; Rare Earth Doping; PECVD; Optical Characterization; Ellipsometry

Matthew -photo

Dr. Matthew Minnick

Assistant Professor

MEMS; Robotics; Micromachining; Resonance; Fluid-Structure Interactions; FEM; Automation


Dr. Shinya Nagasaki

Professor and Canada Research Chair in Nuclear Fuel Cycle and Radioactive Waste Management

radioactive waste management, nuclear fuel cycle, safety assessment of repository and nuclear fuel cycle facilities, migration of actinides, fission products and heavy metals in geosphere and biosphere, nuclear technology in society, nuclear proliferation and security


Dr. Dave Novog

Professor and NSERC Industrial Research Chair

nuclear safety, reactor physics, thermalhydraulics, multiphysics reactor analysis, nuclear fuel and fuel cycles, severe accident modelling, emergency accident response and mitigation


Dr. John Preston


Pulsed Laser Deposition, Self-Assembly of Epitaxial Nanostructures, Photovoltaics


Dr. Leyla Soleymani

Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair in Miniaturized Biomedical Devices

biosensing, point-of-care diagnostics, lab-on-a-chip, DNA detection, health monitoring, nanofabrication, wrinkling, rapid prototyping


Dr. Ayse Turak

Associate Professor

degradation at interfaces in organic electronics; classification of spatial order for 2D objects; modelling and tailoring of organic thin film morphology; nanoparticle synthesis; photovoltaics; surface and interface physics


Dr. Chang-qing Xu

Associate Chair, Graduate

bacterial sensors; biomedical lasers for diagnosis and treatment; periodically poled lithium niobate (PPLN); PPLN related devices; lasers (solid, fibre, semiconductor); optical sensors and sub-systems; laser applications


Dr. Ryan Lewis

Assistant Professor

Self-assembly of semiconductor nanostructures, molecular beam epitaxy, III-V semiconductors, III-V on Si, optoelectronic materials and devices

Ishwar K. -photo

Dr. Ishwar K. Puri

Dean of Engineering
Faculty of Engineering

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Transport Phenomena; Heat Transfer, Energy Storage; Fluid Mechanics; Self Assembly & Nanostructure Synthesis; Combustion & Pollutant Airborne Emissions; Mathematical Biology; Bioinspired Computational Biology