Skip to main content

Applause & Accolades 2016

The 2016 Applause and Accolades Gala, held at Hamilton's Liuna Station, recognized community leaders, influential alumni and the successes of our faculty members, staff, and students. 

McMaster University Faculty of Engineering Leadership Award

McMaster University Faculty of Engineering Leadership Award

Dr. Gilles Patry, President & CEO, Canada Foundation for Innovation (LL.D. ’09)

L.W. Shemilt Distinguished Engineering Alumni Award

L.W. Shemilt Distinguished Engineering Alumni Award

Howard Shearer, Chief Executive, Hitachi Canada (B.Eng. ’77, Electrical Engineering)

Faculty of Engineering Research Achievement Award

Faculty of Engineering Research Achievement Award

Dr. David S. Wilkinson, Provost and Vice-President Academic, McMaster University

Faculty of Engineering Special Achievement Award for Teaching Excellence

Faculty of Engineering Special Achievement Award for Teaching Excellence

Dr. Philip Wood, Director, Engineering I, McMaster University

Gianluigi Botton, Canada Research Chair in Electron Microscopy of Nanoscale Materials, renewed

Saeid Habibi, NSERC/Ford Canada Industrial Research Chair in Hybrid/Electric Vehicle (HEV) Powertrain Diagnostics, renewed

Todd Hoare, Canada Research Chair in Engineered Smart Materials

John Luxat, NSERC/UNENE Industrial Research Chair in Nuclear Safety Analysis, renewed

Leyla Soleymani, Canada Research Chair in Miniaturized Biomedical Devices

Faiez Alani, Editorial Advisory Board of the International Journal of Engineering Education Member
Tracey Becker, $139,399 NSERC Grant

Gianluigi Botton, $4,000,000 NSERC Discovery Frontiers Grant; $536,000 NSERC Strategic 
Grant; $1,473,000 Canadian Foundation for Innovation, Major Science Initiative

Jim Cotton, $1,900,000 Canadian Foundation for Innovation Grant

Emily Cranston, Early Researcher Award from Ontario MRI

Wael El-Dakhakhni, $120,000 NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement

Wael El-Dakhakhni, John Luxat, Shinya Nagasaki, Pei Jun Guo, Dimitrios Konstantinidis, 
Michael Tait, Tracey Becker, Lydell Weibe and Sarah Dickson, $1,650,000 NSERC 

Ali Emadi and McMaster’s Institute for Automotive Research and Technology, $4,400,000 Ontario Research Fund

Qiyin Fang, $149,036 Canadian Foundation for Innovation Grant

Raja Ghosh and David Latulippe, $3,500,000 Ontario Research Fund Research Excellence Grant

Kathryn Grandfield, $61,889 Canadian Foundation for Innovation Grant

Peijun Guo, $120,000 NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement

Peijun Guo and Michael Tait, $140,000 NSERC Research Tools and Instruments Grant

Saeid Habibi, Mo Elbestawi, Jim Cotton, Fengjun Yan, Samir Ziada, Ali Emadi, Nigel Schofield, and Gillian Goward, $1,650,000 NSERC CREATE Grant

Todd Hoare, Early Investigator Award, Canadian Biomaterials Society

Todd Hoare and David Latulippe, $370,000 NSERC Strategic Partnership Grant

Steve Hranilovic, University Scholar

Dimitrios Konstantinidis, $150,000 NSERC Research Tools and Instruments Grant

Ray LaPierre, $420,000 NSERC Strategic Partnership Grant$476,000 NSERC Strategic Partnership Grant

Allan MacKenzie and Theomary Karamanis, Gold MarCom Award, Association of Marketing and            Communication Professionals

Nicola Nicolici, $120,000 NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement

Marek Niewczas, Canadian Metal Physics Award

Natalia Nikolova, $766,300 North Atlantic Treaty Organization Grant

Ghani Razaqpur, Horst Leipholz Medal, Canadian Society for Civil Engineering

Stephen Veldhuis, $398,380 Canadian Foundation for Innovation Grant

Lydell Wiebe, Canadian Institute of Steel Construction Award

Shiping Zhu, R.S. Jane Award, Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering

Saeid Habibi, Fellow, American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Natalia Nikolova, Fellow, Canadian Academy of Engineering

Gu Xu, Fellow, Canadian Academy of Engineering

Tom Adams, President’s Award for Excellence in Graduate Supervision

Tom Doyle, Impact Fellow, McMaster Institute for Innovation and Excellence in Teaching and Learning

Fei Geng, McMaster Student Union Merit Award; McMaster Student Union Faculty Award

Simon Haykin, IEEE James H. Mulligan Jr. Education Medal

Eu-gene Ng, McMaster Student Union Excellence in Teaching Award

Allan MacKenzie, John Dobson Enactus Fellow of the Year Award

Allan MacKenzie, Aadil Merali, Mike Justason, Jacqueline Crossley and Theomary Karamanis, M-Factor Competition, Silver Leaf Award of Merit, International Association of Business Communicators.

Jonathan Bradley, Barber Gennum Chair in Information Technology

Ken Coley, ArcelorMittal Dofasco Chair in Ferrous Metallurgy

Sarah Dickson, Director, McMaster Water Network

Wael El-Dakhakhni, Director, McMaster Institute for Multi-Hazard Systemic Risk Studies

Stephen Elop, Distinguished Executive in Residence

Ridha Khedri, Chair, Department of Computer and Software Engineering

Greig Mordue, ArcelorMittal Dofasco Chair in Manufacturing Policy

Michael Tait, Chair, Department of Civil Engineering

Distinguished Engineering Fellows

Tom Adams, Joseph Ip Distinguished Engineering Fellow

Jun Chen, Joseph Ip Distinguished Engineering Fellow

Emily Cranston, Joseph Ip Distinguished Engineering Fellow

Rong Zheng, Joseph Ip Distinguished Engineering Fellow

Peter Jonasson, Veronika Czerneda Staff Award

Ron Lodewyks, President’s Award for Outstanding Service 

McMaster Eco Car Team, Year One Competition, Sixth Place

Carmen Bracho, Alan Mulally Scholarship, Ford Motor Company

Helen Brown and Natalie Perna, IBM and TD Bank Programming Challenge, First Place

Ahmed Elmeligi and Jacob Jackson, Spectrum STAND UP Pitch Competition, First Place

Darren Feenstra & Shooka Mahboubi, second place, Mars Fontana, National Association of Corrosion Engineers

Trung Ho, Yousif Lawand, Hiren Mistry and Badri Srinivasan, tied for first place, GLO-BUS Business Strategy Simulation

Spencer Imbrogno, Robert A. Auld Student Paper Competition, First Place

Alyssia Jovellanos, Student of Vision ABIE Award, Anita Borg Institute

Melissa Larocque, Water Environment Association of Ontario Scholarship

Ryan LaRue, B.K. Afghan Memorial Award, Hamilton Section, Chemical Institute of Canada

Cindy Nelles, Americas Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year

Hoda Rezaee Kaviani, Three Minute Thesis Competition, Second Place

Philip Wood, Honourary membership to the McMaster Alumni Association